Insights · public buyer receipts

What bomb squads pay for robots: the public receipts

Police, fire and airport bomb squads and tactical units in 9 US cities and airports have published what they pay for robots: 14 orders for 25 robots from 2017 to 2026, each linked to the council record, board paper or notice. 6 show the approval; 8 are requests or proposed maximums, and we label them that way.

  • 14public receipts
  • 25robots ordered
  • 9US cities & airports
  • 6approvals seen (rest are requests)

Why this page: makers of bomb-disposal and tactical robots almost never publish prices, but city councils have to approve the spending. Each card below is one order, taken from the council's own records (Legistar), an airport board paper, the NYC City Record, or local news. Newest receipt Oct 1, 2026.

Price per robot

$10k$30k$100k$300k$1MPittsburgh Department of Public Safety, Jun 8, 2021: 2 × Recon Robotics Throwbot 2, $13,304 per robot ($26,608 ÷ 2, our arithmetic). Approved ceiling.🛡️ Pittsburgh 2021 · Recon Throwbot 2$13.3kPhoenix Police Special Assignments Unit, Jun 16, 2021: Transcend Robotics Vantage F3 with controller, batteries and antenna booster, $18,794 per robot. Approved ceiling.🛡️ Phoenix 2021 · Transcend Vantage F3$18.8kAustin Police Department Bomb Squad, Apr 7, 2022: 2 × ICOR Mini-Caliber, $48,500 per robot ($97,000 ÷ 2, our arithmetic). Requested, vote not seen.💣 Austin 2022 · ICOR Mini-Caliber≤$48.5kAustin Police Department Bomb Squad, Mar 23, 2023: 3 × ICOR Caliber Flex / Mini-Caliber (lift up to 80 lb), $117,298 per robot ($351,894 ÷ 3, our arithmetic). Requested, vote not seen.💣 Austin 2023 · ICOR Caliber Flex / Mini≤$117kDFW Airport Department of Public Safety, Oct 1, 2026: 6 × ICOR Caliber MINI R1.5, 3-year warranty, $122,429 per robot ($734,574 ÷ 6, our arithmetic). Proposed maximum.💣 DFW Airport 2026 · ICOR Caliber MINI R1.5≤$122kJacksonville Sheriff's Office, Mar 11, 2026: two man-portable bomb-disposal robots (model not stated), $147,034 per robot ($294,068 ÷ 2, our arithmetic). Approved.💣 Jacksonville 2026 · model not stated$147kNYPD Emergency Service Unit, Nov 17, 2025: 2 × PackBot 525, $210,293 per robot ($420,586 ÷ 2, our arithmetic). Proposed maximum.💣 NYPD 2025 · PackBot 525≤$210kAustin Police Department Bomb Squad, Jul 20, 2023: ICOR unmanned robotic vehicle (model not stated), $211,376 per robot. Requested, vote not seen.💣 Austin 2023 · ICOR, model not stated≤$211kSacramento Police Department EOD Unit, Jun 4, 2019: ANDROS robot and components, $250,000 per robot. Requested, vote not seen.💣 Sacramento 2019 · ANDROS≤$250kAustin Police Department Bomb Squad, Dec 14, 2017: Andros FX EOD robotic vehicle, $303,679 per robot. Requested, vote not seen.💣 Austin 2017 · Andros FX≤$304kAustin Police Department Special Operations, Jul 24, 2025: Boston Dynamics Spot with accessories and training, $304,619 per robot. Requested, vote not seen.🛡️ Austin 2025 · Boston Dynamics Spot≤$305kPhoenix Police Department Bomb Squad, Mar 20, 2019: Telemax EOD robot with accessories (incl. droppable camera repeaters), $465,000 per robot. Approved ceiling.💣 Phoenix 2019 · Telemax$465kCity of Fort Lauderdale, Apr 16, 2024: EVO Plus bomb robot, $470,449 per robot. Approved.💣 Fort Lauderdale 2024 · EVO Plus bomb robot$470kCity of Olathe (fire department), Apr 24, 2026: telemax EVO HYBRID V2, $540,144 per robot. Approved.💣 Olathe 2026 · telemax EVO HYBRID V2$540k$10k$30k$100k$300k$1MPittsburgh Department of Public Safety, Jun 8, 2021: 2 × Recon Robotics Throwbot 2, $13,304 per robot ($26,608 ÷ 2, our arithmetic). Approved ceiling.🛡️ Pittsburgh ’21$13.3kPhoenix Police Special Assignments Unit, Jun 16, 2021: Transcend Robotics Vantage F3 with controller, batteries and antenna booster, $18,794 per robot. Approved ceiling.🛡️ Phoenix ’21$18.8kAustin Police Department Bomb Squad, Apr 7, 2022: 2 × ICOR Mini-Caliber, $48,500 per robot ($97,000 ÷ 2, our arithmetic). Requested, vote not seen.💣 Austin ’22≤$48.5kAustin Police Department Bomb Squad, Mar 23, 2023: 3 × ICOR Caliber Flex / Mini-Caliber (lift up to 80 lb), $117,298 per robot ($351,894 ÷ 3, our arithmetic). Requested, vote not seen.💣 Austin ’23≤$117kDFW Airport Department of Public Safety, Oct 1, 2026: 6 × ICOR Caliber MINI R1.5, 3-year warranty, $122,429 per robot ($734,574 ÷ 6, our arithmetic). Proposed maximum.💣 DFW Airport ’26≤$122kJacksonville Sheriff's Office, Mar 11, 2026: two man-portable bomb-disposal robots (model not stated), $147,034 per robot ($294,068 ÷ 2, our arithmetic). Approved.💣 Jacksonville ’26$147kNYPD Emergency Service Unit, Nov 17, 2025: 2 × PackBot 525, $210,293 per robot ($420,586 ÷ 2, our arithmetic). Proposed maximum.💣 NYPD ’25≤$210kAustin Police Department Bomb Squad, Jul 20, 2023: ICOR unmanned robotic vehicle (model not stated), $211,376 per robot. Requested, vote not seen.💣 Austin ’23≤$211kSacramento Police Department EOD Unit, Jun 4, 2019: ANDROS robot and components, $250,000 per robot. Requested, vote not seen.💣 Sacramento ’19≤$250kAustin Police Department Bomb Squad, Dec 14, 2017: Andros FX EOD robotic vehicle, $303,679 per robot. Requested, vote not seen.💣 Austin ’17≤$304kAustin Police Department Special Operations, Jul 24, 2025: Boston Dynamics Spot with accessories and training, $304,619 per robot. Requested, vote not seen.🛡️ Austin ’25≤$305kPhoenix Police Department Bomb Squad, Mar 20, 2019: Telemax EOD robot with accessories (incl. droppable camera repeaters), $465,000 per robot. Approved ceiling.💣 Phoenix ’19$465kCity of Fort Lauderdale, Apr 16, 2024: EVO Plus bomb robot, $470,449 per robot. Approved.💣 Ft Lauderdale ’24$470kCity of Olathe (fire department), Apr 24, 2026: telemax EVO HYBRID V2, $540,144 per robot. Approved.💣 Olathe ’26$540k
  • Throwable / small tactical
  • Compact, man-portable
  • Full-size EOD vehicle
  • Four-legged (Spot)
  • size not stated
Price per robot in US dollars, log scale, one row per receipt; tap a row to jump to its card. For multi-robot orders it is the order total divided by the robot count (our arithmetic). Filled = approval seen; hollow and “≤” = a request or a proposed maximum, not a final price. Orders often include accessories, training or a warranty; each card says what.

Bomb-disposal robots 11 receipts

DFW Airport Department of Public Safety

Texas, USA · Oct 1, 2026

Proposed maximum

up to $734,574 · 6 robots

6 × ICOR Caliber MINI R1.5, 3-year warranty Compact, man-portable

  • ≈ $122,429 per robot ($734,574 ÷ 6, our arithmetic)
Seller
ICOR Technology
Bought via
GSA contract GS-07-0430V
Status
board agenda and draft resolution for 1 Oct 2026, not to exceed; replaces an "aged out" fleet the vendor no longer services; final vote not seen

Receipt: apps.dfwairport.com · the job

City of Olathe (fire department)

Kansas, USA · Apr 24, 2026

Approved

$540,144 · one robot

telemax EVO HYBRID V2 Full-size EOD vehicle

Seller
AeroVironment
Status
replacement purchase, delivery September 2026, paid from the vehicle replacement fund; council consent agenda approved 7-0 (local news report, secondary)

Receipt: olathereporter.com · the job

Jacksonville Sheriff's Office

Florida, USA · Mar 11, 2026

Approved

$294,068 · 2 robots

two man-portable bomb-disposal robots (model not stated) Compact, man-portable

  • ≈ $147,034 per robot (incl. travel for a FEMA grant course) ($294,068 ÷ 2, our arithmetic)
Seller
not named
Paid by
USD 220,551 U.S. Department of Homeland Security grant + USD 73,517 local match
Status
Ordinance 2026-117; council approved 17-0 on 10 Mar 2026 (legislation history shown on the summary page)

Receipt: assemblyusa.org · the job

NYPD Emergency Service Unit

New York, USA · Nov 17, 2025

Proposed maximum

up to $420,586 · 2 robots

2 × PackBot 525 Compact, man-portable

  • ≈ $210,293 per robot ($420,586 ÷ 2, our arithmetic)
Seller
not named
Status
proposed contract, maximum value (City Record notice); award not seen

Receipt: a856-cityrecord.nyc.gov · the job

City of Fort Lauderdale

Florida, USA · Apr 16, 2024

Approved

$470,449 · one robot

EVO Plus bomb robot Full-size EOD vehicle

Seller
Atlantic Diving Supply (reseller)
Status
motion approved by the City Commission 16 Apr 2024 (file 24-0302)

Receipt: fortlauderdale.legistar.com · the job

Austin Police Department Bomb Squad

Texas, USA · Jul 20, 2023

Requested, vote not seen

$211,376 · one robot

ICOR unmanned robotic vehicle (model not stated)

Seller
ICOR Technology
Paid by
Homeland Security grant + APD budget
Status
council agenda item 23-2264 for 20 Jul 2023, replacing aging equipment

Receipt: austintexas.legistar.com · the job

Austin Police Department Bomb Squad

Texas, USA · Mar 23, 2023

Requested, vote not seen

up to $351,894 · 3 robots

3 × ICOR Caliber Flex / Mini-Caliber (lift up to 80 lb) Compact, man-portable

  • ≈ $117,298 per robot ($351,894 ÷ 3, our arithmetic)
Seller
ICOR Technology
Bought via
GSA cooperative contract
Status
council agenda item 23-1351 for 23 Mar 2023, not to exceed, replacing aging equipment

Receipt: austintexas.legistar.com · the job

Austin Police Department Bomb Squad

Texas, USA · Apr 7, 2022

Requested, vote not seen

$97,000 · 2 robots

2 × ICOR Mini-Caliber Compact, man-portable

  • ≈ $48,500 per robot ($97,000 ÷ 2, our arithmetic)
Seller
ICOR Technology
Bought via
cooperative contract
Status
council agenda item 22-1546 for 7 Apr 2022

Receipt: austintexas.legistar.com · the job

Sacramento Police Department EOD Unit

California, USA · Jun 4, 2019

Requested, vote not seen

up to $250,000 · one robot

ANDROS robot and components Full-size EOD vehicle

Seller
Northrop Grumman Remotec
Bought via
competitive bidding suspended
Status
council agenda file 2019-00763 for 4 Jun 2019, not to exceed; replaces an 18-year-old robot; two-thirds vote required

Receipt: sacramento.legistar.com · the job

Phoenix Police Department Bomb Squad

Arizona, USA · Mar 20, 2019

Approved ceiling

up to $465,000 · one robot

Telemax EOD robot with accessories (incl. droppable camera repeaters) Full-size EOD vehicle

Seller
Telerob USA
Bought via
sole source
Status
Ordinance S-45467 adopted by the City Council 20 Mar 2019, one-time purchase not to exceed

Receipt: phoenix.legistar.com · the job

Austin Police Department Bomb Squad

Texas, USA · Dec 14, 2017

Requested, vote not seen

up to $303,679 · one robot

Andros FX EOD robotic vehicle Full-size EOD vehicle

Seller
Remotec
Bought via
sole source
Paid by
Homeland Security grant
Status
council agenda item 17-1390 for 14 Dec 2017, not to exceed

Receipt: austintexas.legistar.com · the job

Tactical robots for SWAT and standoffs 3 receipts

Austin Police Department Special Operations

Texas, USA · Jul 24, 2025

Requested, vote not seen

up to $304,619 · one robot

Boston Dynamics Spot with accessories and training Four-legged (Spot)

Seller
Safeware (reseller)
Bought via
Sourcewell cooperative contract
Paid by
USD 250,000 Homeland Security grant + USD 54,619 APD budget
Status
council agenda item 25-1251 for 24 Jul 2025, one-year term, not to exceed

Receipt: austintexas.legistar.com · the job

Phoenix Police Special Assignments Unit

Arizona, USA · Jun 16, 2021

Approved ceiling

up to $18,794 · one robot

Transcend Robotics Vantage F3 with controller, batteries and antenna booster Throwable / small tactical

Seller
Transcend Robotics
Bought via
sole source
Status
Ordinance S-47669 adopted 16 Jun 2021, not to exceed; for barricaded-subject calls

Receipt: phoenix.legistar.com · the job

Pittsburgh Department of Public Safety

Pennsylvania, USA · Jun 8, 2021

Approved ceiling

up to $26,608 · 2 robots

2 × Recon Robotics Throwbot 2 Throwable / small tactical

  • ≈ $13,304 per robot ($26,608 ÷ 2, our arithmetic)
Seller
Recon Robotics
Status
council resolution 2021-1521, passed finally 8 Jun 2021, not to exceed

Receipt: pittsburgh.legistar.com · the job

What the paperwork shows

  1. Size sets the price: about 40× from smallest to largest.

    Throwable and small tactical robots: $13,304–$18,794 each. Compact, man-portable bomb robots: $48,500–$210,293 each. Full-size EOD vehicles with a heavy arm: $250,000–$540,144. Ask which size the job needs before you compare quotes.

    Receipts: DFW Airport 2026 · Olathe 2026 · Jacksonville 2026 · NYPD 2025 · Fort Lauderdale 2024 · Austin 2023 · Austin 2022 · Sacramento 2019 · Phoenix 2019 · Austin 2017 · Phoenix 2021 · Pittsburgh 2021

  2. They wear out, and support ends.

    5 of these 14 orders replace older robots. Sacramento was replacing an 18-year-old robot; DFW Airport says its fleet "aged out" and the vendor no longer services it. Ask for a written support and parts period.

    Receipts: DFW Airport 2026 · Olathe 2026 · Austin 2023 · Austin 2023 · Sacramento 2019

  3. Grants pay for many of them.

    4 receipts name a Homeland Security grant as a funding source. Jacksonville's grant covered USD 220,551 of USD 294,068; Austin's Spot order is USD 250,000 grant plus USD 54,619 from the police budget.

    Receipts: Jacksonville 2026 · Austin 2023 · Austin 2017 · Austin 2025

  4. At least 8 of 14 skipped an open bid.

    4 went through an existing cooperative or GSA contract and 4 were sole source or had bidding suspended (the other receipts don't say how the robot was bought). That is fast, but it leaves no rival quote on the record. If you can, get one.

    Receipts: DFW Airport 2026 · Austin 2023 · Austin 2022 · Austin 2025 · Sacramento 2019 · Phoenix 2019 · Austin 2017 · Phoenix 2021

  5. A request is not a price.

    8 of these 14 receipts are a request to council or a proposed maximum; we did not see the final approval. We label each one and add a new row when the final figure is published.

    Receipts: DFW Airport 2026 · NYPD 2025 · Austin 2023 · Austin 2023 · Austin 2022 · Sacramento 2019 · Austin 2017 · Austin 2025

Before you sign: five questions

  1. What size does the job need? A throwable robot for looking into a room and a full-size EOD vehicle that lifts and disrupts are different purchases. The receipts here differ by more than 10× in price per robot.
  2. What is in the price? Accessories, camera repeaters, training and warranties are often in the order total. Ask for a line-item quote.
  3. How long will the maker support it? Ask for a written support and parts period. Several of these orders replace robots that were no longer serviced.
  4. Is there a second quote? Cooperative contracts and sole-source buys are quick but leave no rival price. One more quote is cheap insurance.
  5. Who pays after the grant? Grants often cover the purchase but not batteries, repairs or the next replacement. Budget the years after.

Also see: bomb disposal robots and police tactical robots (providers and every price), what airports pay for robots, how to write a robot quote request.

How this page is built

  • Rows: prices in our dataset for the bomb-disposal and police tactical robot jobs where the buyer is a US public agency. Each row is tagged by hand (buyer, robot, count, size, status, how it was bought, who paid) after reading the source.
  • Status is what the document shows: approved (vote or approval seen), approved ceiling (not-to-exceed), requested (council agenda; we did not see the vote) or proposed maximum. Drone programs are not on this page.
  • “Per robot” is the order total divided by the robot count in the same source, marked “our arithmetic”. Nothing is estimated or converted.
  • Size buckets are ours, from the source's description of the robot.
  • Our price history is append-only: when a final figure is published we add a row and keep the old one.
  • Know a public bomb-squad robot purchase we missed? Send the link.

Cite this page

Whirrwork (2026). What bomb squads pay for robots: the public receipts. https://whirrwork.com/insights/bomb-squad-robot-receipts/ (CC BY 4.0)

Data: /insights/bomb-squad-robot-receipts.json · CC BY 4.0 · Insights feed